Ingham, Suffolk

Ingham, Suffolk

Ingham is a small village in West Suffolk, located about six miles north of Bury St Edmunds on the A134 to Thetford in Norfolk.
The village boasts a single church, a post office and village stores and a pub/restaurant, The Cadogan.

Ingham is mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086. Possible etymologies are 'homestead or village of a man called Inga' or 'home of the Inguiones' (an ancient Germanic tribe).

The church is dedicated to St Bartholomew and is Church of England.

The village school was a one room school for all grades and closed in the mid 1980s as a result of declining numbers, despite the expansion of the village with new housing development in the 1960s and 1970s.

Mercedes

Mercedes

Historically, local people have been mainly employed in Bury St Edmunds or Thetford, commuting to work, though some work locally in agriculture or transport industries.

Situated on a slight rise north of Bury St Edmunds the village is bounded by a disused railway cutting - the line and Ingham railway station closed in the 1950s, though Ingham is still served by two bus routes. Thetford Forest lies a few miles to the north east.

Mercedes

Mercedes

Mercedes